Stages of Formation

1. Aspirancy and Postulancy

Based in Davao City, these two stages involve:

  • living in a Marist community
  • prayer and reflection
  • college-level study of philosophy
  • experience of Marist ministries

Depending on previous experience and qualifications, this period takes 3-5 years.

2. Novitiate

This year of formation is given over to deep, personal reflection and immersion in Marist spirituality. It is also an intense experience of community life with other novices from several different countries. The International English-speaking Novitiate is in Eden, Toril, Davao City.

3. Religious ProfessionDSC_0198_Fotor

At the end of novitiate, a person officially becomes a Marist by professing the three temporary vows of poverty, chastity and obedience.


4. Theological Studies

Marists who intend to become priests continue their programme of formation at the International Scholasticate in Rome, studying theology for 3-4 years.

5. Perpetual ProfessionOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a minimum period of three years, the temporarily professed Marist makes his Perpetual – life-long – Profession of vows.




6. Marist Mission Experience1465277_753620394653487_1538773682_n

Formation is not all about study. As well as part-time involvement in ministry throughout their formation programme, Marists have a full-time mission experience, usually for one year.



7. Ordination1008-DVO-ordination-5

When all stages of Initial Formation have been completed, candidates for the priesthood may be called to ordination – first as a deacon, then as a priest.

5 thoughts on “Stages of Formation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s