Marist Asia-Pacific

Marist Asia Pacific is an informal structure which expresses the commitment of the Provinces of Australia, New Zealand and Oceania, and the Mission District of the Philippines to collaborate more closely together in the Asia-Pacific region of the world.

Marist Asia Pacific (MAP) takes responsibility for seeing through matters on which the provinces and district agree to collaborate on.

There are currently four areas that MAP will work together on:

  1. Closer collaboration
    • setting clear guidelines for expectations and accountabilities of current and future collaboration
    • promoting and supporting bi and multilateral collaboration
    • building the MAP identity and reporting to the rest of the Society
    • clarifying the range and types of collaboration
  2. Increasing our contribution to evangelization among non-Christians
    • giving priority to current evangelization works in Thailand / Myanmar and Japan
    • exploring collaboration between the Philippines and Japan
    • exploring opportunities for work among migrants, modern society, Vanuatu and Fiji
    • supporting individuals who wish to work in evangelization with non-Christians
    • raising the profile of Marist mission work
  3. Governance and communication
    • recognising the need to develop leaders for local and international mission that includes Marist, spiritual, initial formation, administrative and financial tasks
    • the promotion and support of in-service programmes, distance learning, apprenticeships and experiential learning
  4. Training of leaders
    • building community across MAP
    • developing mentoring leaders
    • realising collaboration